Empathy

Yesterday I listened to an acquaintance talking on Periscope about the loss of his family through divorce. He is wrecked.

And I was wrecked for the rest of the day.

Thing is I was terribly conflicted, too. Not all men are evil, nor are all women. Nothing is completely black and white. No situation, no matter how horrible, can be so easily boiled down. We are fallen, all of us, in need of a savior.

This encounter pushed me back into my own past, my mother’s abuse, her long string of men in the house after Daddy died – even stealing my boyfriend and taking him to her bed because I was a virgin and wouldn’t, and her utter abandon of us – the six children of my father. What chance did any of us have for even a semi-normal life?

Zero.

Published by

Pastora Covert

Just a daughter of my Abba, hoping to introduce Him around.

Leave a Reply

